PEN Centre visits in February

Laura McVeigh, Executive Director, PEN International:
This month I will be joining colleagues in Irish PEN to celebrate their Annual Awards evening. This year Irish PEN are delighted to be honouring Joseph O’Connor with the Irish PEN Award. The Award will be presented by President of Ireland, Michael D. Higgins on 10 February 2012. The Award has previously been awarded to writers including Colm Tóibín, Brian Friel, Edna O’Brien, Neil Jordan, Seamus Heaney, Jennifer Johnston, Maeve Binchy and Roddy Doyle. Following the visit to Ireland, I will be joining PEN International Secretary Hori Takeaki, PEN International President John Ralston Saul, and Board member Marketa Hejkalova for a Congress planning meeting in South Korea with Korean PEN. Korean PEN are generously offering support to a number of delegates in order to attend the Congress in September and I look forward to welcoming many of you to the 2012 Congress later in the year. Later this month, John Ralston Saul will also be representing PEN International in Addis Ababa at the Ethiopian Writers’ Congress and then meeting with PEN members in Djibouti.