Home Page > Centre > Independent Chinese Centre

President – Tienchi Martin-Liao
Tel. – +49-221-8015 8705
Email – tienchimartin@gmail.com

Secretary – Guozhen Xiao
Tel. – +1-(510)-362-9792
Email – bjlawoffice@gmail.com

Address – Independent Chinese PEN Centre, PO Box 4632, Rockville MD, USA 20849
Website – www.chinesepen.org/english

Co-ordinator of Writers in Prison Committee – Guozhen Xiao
Email – bjlawoffice@gmail.com
Co-ordinator of Translation and Linguistic Rights Committee – Yu Zhang
Email – yuzhang08@hotmail.com
Co-ordinator of Women Writers’ Committee – Wing Mui Tsoi
Email – wingmuit@gmail.com
Co-ordinator of Writers for Peace Committee – Tienchi Martin-Liao
Email – tienchimartin@gmail.com

Independent Chinese PEN Center (ICPC) is a nongovernmental, nonprofit and nonpartisan organisation beyond borders based on free association of those who write, edit, translate, research and publish literature work in Chinese and dedicated to freedom of expression for the workers in Chinese language and literature, including writers, journalists, translators, scholars and publishers over the world. ICPC is a member organisation of PEN International, the global association of writers dedicated to freedom of expression and the defence of writers suffering governmental repression. Through the worldwide PEN network and its own membership base in China and abroad, ICPC is able to mobilise international attention to the plight of writers and editors within China attempting to write and publish with a spirit of independence and integrity, regardless of their political views, ideological standpoint or religious beliefs.

In July 2001, ICPC was founded by a group of Chinese writers in exile and in China, and approved as a chapter of PEN International at its annual congress in London in November. Since then, ICPC has made vigorous efforts to promote and defend the freedom of writing and publication and the free flow of information in China, and been deeply concerned about the state of civil society and open discourse there.

In December 2015-February 2016, ICPC held its Seventh Internet Congress of the Membership Assembly to have elected 9 Board members and 2 alternates, and the President Tienchi Martin-Liao (Germany). The former president Dr. Liu Xiaobo, imprisoned since 8 December 2008, has been its Honorary President since October 2009, and was the recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize in 2010.