PEN International © 2017
Terms & Conditions | Privacy Statement

Call for Nominations: 2014 IPA Freedom to Publish Prize

Friday 13 December 2013 - 12:00am

The IPA Freedom to Publish Prize is awarded annually to highlight and celebrate the courage and tenacity of publishers around world who are fighting for the freedom to publish.

The prize is awarded to an individual or organisation that has recently published controversial works in the face of pressure, threats, intimidation or harassment from government or other authorities; or publishers with a long and distinguished history of upholding the values of freedom to publish and freedom of expression.

Previous winners include Ragıp Zarakolu, Turkish publisher and human rights activist and PEN main case, who was awarded the prize in 2008.

Nominations for the 2014 IPA Freedom to Publish Prize will close on 6 January 2014.

The Prize will be awarded on 27 March 2014, during the IPA Congress in Bangkok, and the recipient will receive CHF20,000

For more information click here.

To view the nominations form click here.